Img

Case Studies


Our newly developed safety equipment is thoroughly tested and certified before it is used in a practical situation. In this we collaborate with well-known institutes recognised worldwide such as the CSI Institute in Milan (official FIA and FIM test institute), the Politecnico in Milan, Monash University in Australia or the Roosevelt Institute in the USA. This guarantees the highest standards and underpins our reputation of being the leading provider of safety solutions in winter sports, motorsport and road traffic.

 

Case study Road airbag/TMA light:
From the ALPINA air modules to the ALPINA road airbag and the ALPINA TMA light (first mobile piggyback solution for light trucks up to 3.5 to).

 

Our top products for speed sports are the ALPINA air modules which have been used in various versions in motorbike and ski racing worldwide since 1994. Because of our experience with this product, we know that falls at up to 200 km/h into an air module that is directly in front of a solid obstacle do not result in any injuries. Through constant research and development with these products we have over the years accumulated comprehensive experience on the principle of energy dissipation through throttled air which was then incorporated into our next product Air Module F1.

 TMA light

The development of this F1 module, which works on the same principle, after extremely successful deployments in Monte Carlo since 1997, opened up a new field of business aiming at improving road traffic safety by the deployment of the ALPINA road airbags.

 

The next leap forward in the underlying airflow technology is represented by the Alpina TMA light, a unique piggyback impact protection system for impact protection vehicles up to 3.5 to. Because of the unique light design of our TMA light we are the only provider in this area as, because of their heavy weight, all other TMAs are unsuitable for use on vehicles up to 3.5 tonnes.

 

The TMA light is tested under the strict US standard NCHRP 350 by the TÜV and is twice as good as is required under the European standard. The TMA light considerably increases the protection of building site and road workers as soon as they leave their vehicle and carry out work on motorways and dual carriageways. Because of the impact reduction the road workers in or in front of the impact protection vehicle are safeguarded while also the motorist driving into it benefits from the crash cushioning of the TMA light.
 

Case study wind netting:
ALPINA possesses many years of experience in the construction of A/4 high resistance systems for the protection of alpine ski racers and has carried out a large number of such projects throughout Europe, the USA (Vail 1999, Salt Lake 2002, Beaver Creek 2015) and Canada (Vancouver 2010).

 

 

Because of the increasing incidence of wind problems arising in ski jumping, major jumping events were increasingly threatened with cancellation and therefore looking for a cheap and efficient solution to avoid cancellations or postponements because of wind. So, as organiser of the Bergisel ski jumping during the 4-Hills Tournament, ÖSV/Austria Ski Nordic approached Alpina to jointly design/develop and install a wind net system. As a pilot system in the form of a mobile wind net system, the Alpina wind net was installed in January 2009 and in each of the following years set up for the jumping in Innsbruck and dismantled again after the competition.

 Windnetz - Graphik

We were approached with the next challenge in this area by the organisers of the New Year’s Ski Jump event in Garmisch-Partenkirchen as they suffered losses in millions after the cancellation of an event because of the wind. After surmounting some resistance on site (architect’s objections/restrictions by the TV companies etc.) it was possible to put this into operation for the first time in January 2012 to good effect and on the very first use cancellation because of too strong a wind was prevented.

 

In both cases we received extremely positive feedback from the athletes, the organising bodies, the Austrian Ski Federation, the German Ski Federation as well as the people responsible at the FIS and thus demonstrate how problems can be successfully overcome within the shortest possible time through successful cooperation in partnership with our customers and thus new and perfect products can come about.

Img

Fallstudien


Unsere neu entwickelten Sicherheitsausrüstungen werden auf Herz und Nieren geprüft und zertifiziert, bevor sie in der Praxis zum Einsatz kommen. Wir arbeiten dabei mit renommierten und weltweit anerkannten Instituten wie dem CSI-Institut in Milano (offizielles FIA- u. FIM-Testinstitut), dem Politecnico in Milano, der Monash University in Australien oder dem Roosevelt Institute in den USA zusammen. Dies garantiert höchste Maßstäbe und untermauert unseren Ruf, der führende Anbieter für Sicherheitslösungen in Wintersport, Motorsport und Straßenverkehr zu sein.

 

Fallstudie Roadairbag/TMA light:
Von den ALPINA Airmodulen zum  ALPINA Road-Airbag und zum ALPINA TMA-Light (erste mobile Huckepack-Lösung für Leicht-LKW bis zu 3.5 to).

 

Unsere Spitzenprodukte für den Geschwindigkeitssport sind die ALPINA Airmodule, die in unterschiedlichen Versionen bei Motorrad- und Skirennen seit 1994 weltweit im Einsatz sind. Aufgrund unserer Erfahrung mit diesem Produkt wissen wir, dass Stürze mit bis zu 200 km/h in ein Airmodul, das unmittelbar vor einem festen Hindernis steht, keine Verletzungen nach sich ziehen. Durch ständiges Forschen und Entwickeln mit diesen Produkten haben wir im Laufe der Jahre umfangreiche Erfahrungen zum Prinzip der Energiedissipation durch gedrosselte Luft gesammelt, die dann in unser nächstes Produkt Airmodul F1 eingeflossen sind.

 TMA light

Die Entwicklung dieses nach dem gleichen Prinzip arbeitenden F1 Modules, erschloss nach überaus erfolgreichen Einsätzen in Monte Carlo seit 1997 ein neues Geschäftsfeld, das auf die Erhöhung der Sicherheit im Straßenverkehr mittels Einsatz des ALPINA Road-Airbags abzielt.

 

Der nächste Entwicklungssprung der zugrundeliegenden Air-flow-Technologie wird durch den Alpina TMA-Light repräsentiert, einem einzigartigen Huckepack-Anprallschutz für Verkehrssicherungsfahrzeuge bis zu 3,5 to. Aufgrund der einzigartigen leichten Bauweise unseres TMA-light sind wir die einzigen Anbieter auf diesem Gebiet, da alle anderen TMAs aufgrund ihres hohen Gewichts für den Einsatz an Fahrzeugen bis 3,5 to nicht geeignet sind.

 

Der TMA light ist nach der strengen US-Norm NCHRP 350 vom TÜV geprüft und ist doppelt so gut wie von der europäischen Norm gefordert. Der TMA light erhöht den Schutz von Baustellen- und Straßenarbeitern beträchtlich, sobald sie ihr Einsatzfahrzeug verlassen und Arbeiten auf Autobahnen und Schnellstraßen vornehmen. Durch die Stoßabschwächung werden die im und vor dem Absicherungsfahrzeug befindlichen Straßenarbeiter gesichert, während auch der auffahrende Verkehrsteilnehmer von der Anpralldämpfung des TMA light profitiert.
 

Fallstudie Windnetz:
ALPINA besitzt jahrelange Erfahrung im Bau von A/4- Hochsicherheits-Anlagen zum Schutz von alpinen Skirennläufern und hat eine große Zahl von solchen Projekten in ganz Europa, den USA (Vail 1999, Salt Lake 2002,  Beaver Creek 2015) und Kanada (Vancouver 2010) durchgeführt.

 

Aufgrund von vermehrt auftretender Windproblematik im Skisprung waren große Sprungveranstaltungen vermehrt von Absagen bedroht und deshalb auf der Suche nach einer effizienten, kostengünstigen Lösung, um teure Absagen bzw. Verschiebungen wegen Windes zu vermeiden. Daher trat der ÖSV/Austria Ski Nordic als Veranstalter der Bergisel-Springen im Rahmen der Vier-Schanzen Tournee an Alpina heran, um gemeinsam eine Windnetzanlage zu entwerfen/entwickeln und zu installieren. Als Pilotsystem in Form einer mobilen Windnetzanlage wurde im Jänner 2009 das Alpina Windnetz installiert, und in den Folgejahren jeweils wieder für das Springen in Innsbruck aufgebaut und nach dem Bewerb wieder abgebaut.

 Windnetz - Graphik

Die nächste Herausforderung in diesem Bereich wurde von den Veranstaltern des Neujahrsspringens in Garmisch-Partenkirchen an uns herangetragen, da sie nach einer windbedingten Absage einer Veranstaltung finanzielle Verluste in Millionenhöhe erleiden mussten. Nach Überwindung einiger Widerstände vor Ort (Architekteneinwände/Einschränkungen durch die TV-Anstalten etc.) konnte diese Anlage erstmals im Jänner 2012 wirkungsvoll zum Einsatz gebracht und gleich beim ersten Einsatz eine Absage wegen zu starkem Wind verhindert werden.

 

In beiden Fällen erhielten wir äußerst positives Feedback von den Sportlern, den Veranstaltergremien, dem Österreichischen Skiverband, dem Deutschen Skiverband sowie den FIS-Verantwortlichen und beweisen damit, wie durch eine erfolgreiche, partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden Probleme innerhalb kürzester Zeit erfolgreich bewältigt werden und dadurch neue, perfekte Produkte entstehen können.